Keep Your Eyes Open

Exciting releases for 2011 #2

The Iron Queen by Julie Kagawa
Original Language: English
Publisher: Harlequin
Country: United States
Publication Date: 1 February 2011
ISBN: 0373210183
Page Count: 384
In less than twenty-four hours I’ll be seventeen.Although, technically, I won’t actually be turning seventeen. I’ve been in the Nevernever too long. When you’re in Faery, you don’t age. So while a year has passed in the real world, agewise I’m probably only a few days older than when I went in.
In real life, I’ve changed so much I don’t even recognize myself. I thought it was over. That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron fey that will drag me back, kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished prince who’s sworn to stand by my side. Drag me into the core of conflict so powerful, I’m not sure anyone can survive it.
Iron Queen is the conclusion to Julie Kagawa’s Iron Fey series and is expected to hit shelves in Feb 2011. Iron King was released in Feb 2010 and Iron Daughter in August. 
The Iron Fey novella, Winter’s Passage, can be downloaded free from Julie’s website ( until April 2011. Winter’s Passage takes place between the events of Iron King and Iron Daughter.
The Gathering by Kelley Armstrong
Original Language: English
Publisher: HarperCollins
Country: USA
Publication Date: April 12th 2011
ISBN: 0061797022
Page Count: 400
Maya lives in a small medical-research town on Vancouver Island. How small? You can’t find it on the map. It has less than two-hundred people, and her school has only sixty-eight students—for every grade from kindergarten to twelve.
Now, strange things are happening in this claustrophobic town, and Maya’s determined to get to the bottom of them. First, the captain of the swim team drowns mysteriously in the middle of a calm lake. A year later, mountain lions start appearing around Maya’s home, and they won’t go away. Her best friend, Daniel, starts getting negative vibes from certain people and things. It doesn’t help that the new bad boy in town, Rafe, has a dangerous secret—and he’s interested in one special part of Maya’s anatomy: Her paw-print birthmark.
The Gathering is the first book from Kelley Armstrong’s new series Darkness Rising. This trilogy will be a follow up to her Darkest Powers trilogy, featuring Chloe Saunders. Find my reviews here.
The Gathering will be released in April 2011, but for those who can’t wait Armstrong has a special surprise. Each year Armstrong writes an online novella and, at the moment, has three short stories for her readers. A fourth story, Disenchanted, is being updated regularly.
The story of how Derek and Simon ended up at Lyle House. Narrated by Derek.
Short story about another Edison Group subject. Originally published in The Eternal Kiss. Kat’s story will continue in Kisses from Hell, coming August 2010.
Derek and Simon’s adventures while separated from Chloe at the beginning of The Awakening. Narrated by Derek.
Tori and Simon’s adventures while separated from Chloe and Derek during The Awakening. Narrated by Tori (some Simon narration).
The Falloway Man by Sara Douglass
A brief glimpse from Sara Douglass on Facebook
Richard Coeur de Lion is King of England. An intrepid and courageous crusader, Richard is nonetheless a complex and tormented man. He neglects his wife, Bérengère, and views England only as a means of raising ever more coin to finance his crusades - and save his soul from his own, special dark secret.
As Richard is away so much, England is in reality controlled by three very different men, all of whom distrust and hate each other yet need each other to maintain power. One is Richard’s brother, Prince John, Count of Mortain, popularly known as Softsword. Another is Geoffrey de Mortaigne, Earl of Pengraic. The third is Hugh the Wolf, Earl of Wessex, and half brother to Richard, John and Geoffrey.
Four men, bound by blood, emnity and love. One wife, neglected, misunderstood, and vastly underestimated in the game of power among the warring Plantagenet princes.
Richard has arrived home from crusade, bringing with him - to everyone’s amazement - a wife, Bérengère. The king has returned for one simple purpose, to raise enough coin to spearhead another crusade into the Holy Lands. His unexpected arrival home after many years absence upsets the delicate power balance between Prince John, Pengraic and Wessex. In his quest for more money, Richard unexpectedly learns of an ancient tale about a treasure buried by the seventh-century Penda of Mercia, last of the great pagan kings of Britain.
Confronted by the inevitable Christianization of Britain, and knowing there was nothing he could do to stop it, Penda had caused to be buried the great Trove of Britain, all the sacred relics and regalia of the ancient gods of Britain from time immemorial.
Despite his misgivings about the nature of the treasure (it is pagan, after all), Richard is seduced by the prospect of so much wealth. He sets his brother John, as well the Earls of Pengraic and Wessex, to securing the treasure.
And, in the doing, Richard wakes something that should never have been disturbed, and sets an army on a journey that should never have been started, as long-forgotten legends rise once more to walk the hills and meadows of England.
I always enjoy books by Sara Douglass. They are very involved and the nefarious plots unroll so slowly, yet precisely, that I find myself devouring the series. Douglass is still writing this one and, at this point, there are no release dates available. Find my Sara Douglass reviews here.
Keep your eyes peeled for these up and coming releases, and in the mean time…
Get comfy and get reading.Photobucket

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...